Originally opened on Queen Victoria’s Diamond Jubilee in 1897, it underwent a re-design by Donald Steele in 1988 and is now reputed to be the toughest of the St Andrews’ Championship links. Created on a narrow strip of land between the sea and the New, the raised tees provide great views but also expose golfers to wind which sweeps in from the bay.

TECHNICAL DETAILS

Founded
1897
Type
Links
Architect
John Angus Jnr & Donald Steel
Length
6805
Holes
18
Par
72
SSS
73
Location
St. Andrews, Fife
GET DIRECTIONS